Setting Big Hairy Audacious Goals

Habakkuk 2 verses 2 and 3 says “ Then the Lord answered me and said: “Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; Because it will surely come, It will not tarry.” What is the difference between a vision and a goal? I had to look this up. A vision is the big picture! I have a vision that everyone in my life will become healthier day by day. And not just in their bodies either. I want everyone to be healthier in their minds, spirit’s, bodies and finances. A goal is what I have to do in order to see my vision come to pass. Over time, the goals to reach my vision will become bigger and bigger. This picture shows what I mean:

Goal-vs-Vision-1024x732

 Yesterday I introduced BHAG, or Big Hairy Audacious Goals. This week I’m going to elaborate on this idea. Setting goals of any size is not complicated. But if it isn’t done, your life can not change for the better! I talk to Reggie from time to time about goal setting. He is incredibly good at it! He has goals set for every area of his life and he has taught me to do this also. Previously I have told you about my goals. But how do I set them? Again, here is a visual that I love that will show this.

images2JFP4HGZ

What do you want your goal to be? Write it down! Then make a plan, get help if you need it! Get to work on what you’ve done and stick with it until you reach it. And remember, goals need to be big enough to push you, but not so big that you will want to give up before you reach it. This is where prayer comes in. There is an acronym for goal setting that I love: SMART. Here is a visual of it:

smart

First, be specific. What exactly do you want? Next, make sure it is measurable. How can you tell if you have reached it? How can you tell? Third, is it achievable for you? Remember, what the mind can conceive and believe it can achieve! (Zig Zigler) So if you can see it in your mind, you can do it. Fourth, is it realistic? And what make it realistic is fifth: time. Are you trying to reach your goal in 3 months when it should be set for a year? Any goal you make up your mind to see happen can happen, but big goals typically will take longer to reach that smaller goals. So, set your Big Hairy Audacious Goals. And then get to work to make it happen! Like Les Brown says, “You have greatness within you!” You can do it!

One thought on “Setting Big Hairy Audacious Goals

  1. Pingback: Setting Big Hairy Audacious Goals | faith2max

Leave a Reply

